Grilled Salmon (Soy and Brown Sugar Marinade)

This is the easiest salmon recipe ever I think.  I was watching one of the few instructional cooking shows left  on the Food Network and Chef Michael Smith was making salmon which suddenly gave me a craving for fish.  I used a salmon fillet (tail portion) for this recipe but you can use whatever portion you prefer. This recipe served 2 but the ingredient list could have worked for 4 servings as well.

Ingredients

Salmon portion of your choosing (enough for 2-4 people – I used one tail fillet for two people)

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp brown sugar

.5 tbsp chopped or minced garlic

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp water

.25 tsp black pepper

Directions

Put the salmon in a ziplock bag (plastic bag) and add all ingredients together.  Close bag tightly and massage sauce around the fish so it is well coated.  Let sit for at least 2 hours.

Heat a teaspoon of canola, sunflower etc oil in a fry pan (not olive as the heat gets a bit hot). When the pan is hot (set your burner to medium heat), put the salmon in skin side down first.  Once it starts to get pink along the edges flip it over (about 3-4 minutes depending on your stove). Let if go another 5 minutes or so until it has reached a doneness you are happy with (some like it slightly raw inside and other well done).

That is it!  Serve with a green vegetable (because I always think the green and orangey pink from the salmon looks good together) and anything else you feel like.  We had fresh corn on the cob.

2 thoughts on “Grilled Salmon (Soy and Brown Sugar Marinade)

  1. I love salmon! Unfortunately, I don’t have access to good salmons out here. But thanks for sharing this recipe. I will surely keep it in my database, so when I do get good salmons, I will know what to do with them. 🙂

  2. Thanks Grace! I think this recipe might work on several types of fish – try it on whatever fish you get and let e know if it works. I am always interested in additions, alterations etc to the recipes to make them work on whatever you have at hand.

Leave a Reply

