Stuffed tomatoes

Saw a picture of some stuffed tomatoes and thought I would try out my hand at making some.  Pretty darn easy to make.  I bought 4 hot house style tomatoes (large).  Using a spoon I scooped out the insides being careful not to break through the outer layer – I left about .25 inch all around the inside.  Turned the tomatoes upside down on some paper towels to drain while I made the stuffing.

Since I wanted a protein in it and I love lentils I used them as the base.

Ingredients

1 can lentils

chopped garlic (as much as you like)

1 cup frozen chopped vegetables

6 large chopped mushrooms

2-3 tbsp brown sugar

salt and pepper to taste (easy on the salt as the parmesan cheese has salt

1 tbsp olive oil in the fry pan

Directions

In a frying pan – saute the onions until browned, add in all the ingredients at once and saute  together.  Once mixture is warmed take the hollowed out tomato shells – toss a bit of parmesan on the inside bottom of the shell and then stuff them with the mixture.

Fill to the top and then sprinkle parmesan over the top to cover.

Bake at 400 degrees Fahrenheit  for 25-30 minutes depending on your oven.  This recipe could make 8 stuffed tomato shells – I made 4 and kept the rest of the mixture in the fridge for other things.

One thought on “Stuffed tomatoes

Leave a Reply

