Comfort Vegetable Soup (with pasta or without)

I came across a recipe for a chunky vegetable soup with pasta as I included it on my menu list for my side food business…Now I hadn’t actually made this type of soup before but thought how hard can it be???  Well I was right – easy peasy and delicious to boot.  I have changed enough of the found recipe that I can call it my own so here it goes. You can make this with or without pasta.  What a great fall or winter dish! I love it almost as a stew but you can add as much liquid as you like.

Ingredients

2 medium onions

2 cloves of minced garlic

3 celery stalks

1 large or 1.5 medium carrots sliced on the diagonal

1 can of diced tomatoes (I use the low sodium variety)

4 cups of chicken stock (again I use low sodium) – you can also use vegetable broth if you like. If the soup is too thick for your liking then just add more stock.

A pinch of dried oregano and basil – pinch of ground pepper (you can get creative here and add any spices you feel work well with vegetables)

SECRET INGREDIENT – A tbsp of brown sugar – this helps to cut the acidity of the tomato and gives a subtle sweet note to the soup.

Parmesan cheese (to finish with)

Directions

Sauté onions till soft and then add garlic.  Add celery and carrots and sauté all till slightly softened.  Add diced tomato, chicken stock, oregano and basil and cook until all vegetables have softened.  While it is hot, sprinkle parmesan cheese on top and watch it melt – then dig in! Really good the next day too.

3 thoughts on “Comfort Vegetable Soup (with pasta or without)

Leave a Reply

