Poppy Seed Cookies

This recipe comes from my favourite aunt who was a wonderful cook.  I normally wouldn’t really blog dessert recipes given I am aiming for healthy, low fat, food recipes, however given it is the holiday season I felt I could do this one in my aunts honour. I will say that is is hardly a “low fat” healthy cookie (I still have to try one of the last blog posts I did about the low fat cookie dough) but it does make a wonderful light tasting cookie!  Enjoy! (the image comes flicker)

images-1

Ingredients

1 cup butter cut into chunks

1 cup icing sugar .5 tsp vanilla

.25 cup orange or apple juice

2.25 cups flour .25 cup of poppy seeds

Directions

Process butter, sugar and vanilla for 2 minutes until blended Add remaining ingredients and mix just until dough forms a ball Put into fridge for 1 hour Shape into 1” balls and arrange on un-greased cookie sheet – flatten thin Bake at 350º about 18-20 minutes until bottoms are brown Cool and sprinkle with icing sugar

4 thoughts on “Poppy Seed Cookies

    • They have a very light taste (unfortunately they are so light and yummy you want to eat them all!). The icing sugar gives the sweetness but the poppy seeds have a slight savoury note to them which works really well. Try them and let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

