Poached Salmon with Green Beans over Salad

Had my friend Anne over for lunch yesterday and made a healthy meal of poached salmon on salad.  I had a couple of issues with a dressing for the salad but after thinking it through I decided a dijon and lemon vinaigrette with a touch of apple cider worked best.  This is a super easy meal to make and if you get the right dressing…quite tasty.

First you make a poaching liquid (vegetable stock would be my first choice given I don’t have fish stock). I didn’t have any so I actually used water and flavoured it with the following ingredients.

poaching liquid

Poaching liquid ingredients (feel free to use whatever you have on hand which is what I always do.)

1 chopped leek white portion only

Chopped baby carrots (as many as you want)

2 tbsp of lemon juice

Pinch of oregano

1 bay leaf

Tomato chopped – take out the seeds if you  can (I had some roasted grape tomatoes in the fridge so I used them)

1 celery stalk chopped

Pinch of salt and pepper

1 stalk of lemongrass cut in pieces and smashed to release the flavours or lemongrass powder – 1 tsp

Handful of fresh parsley or 1 tsp of dried

Half a cup of white wine (only if you have on hand – I usually freeze leftover wine in little ziplock bags for this purpose)

Let all of these flavours simmer together for about half an hour on low heat – adding liquid as needed.  You should notice a wonderful aroma at this point.  Now I add the green beans (however many you want in your salad – I used a handful of french beans tops trimmed).  I let them cook until almost tender and then I picked them out and added to the salad base.

salad base

Next comes the easy part – just put the salmon in the liquid and cover for about 5 minutes – you can turn it over if you like but really you don’t have to.  check that the salmon flakes slightly and take it out of the liquid. Cut into portion sizes or, to make it neater (which I should have done) cut it up before hand.

salmon poaching

Place on salad and dress with vinaigrette

poached salmon on salad

4 thoughts on “Poached Salmon with Green Beans over Salad

  1. Gads I could eat that every day….how yummy. Off for our daily walk….as snowing we zip up To the fair view mall. Very bright and new now. Happy shovelling! Only people I’m happy for are the ski operators!! Can’t wait to leave Xok

    Sent from my iPhone

  2. Right back atcha V. Hope you have a happy, healthy and prosperous 2013. On the food note – I do think this dish still needed something. Haven’t put my finger on it yet. Maybe that over salad wasn’t right or the dressing wasn’t right – I will work on it though as I love poached salmon.

Leave a Reply

