Gluten Free Nut Brownies

My friend Victoria passed on this recipe for brownies that we all had during our fall retreat for a group I belong to called “Chicks-in-Charge”. It’s a group of women that run their own businesses and we have a retreat once a year to discuss new ideas, where we are at in business and life, we bounce ideas off each other and often have a guest speaker for a morning.  I always leave feeling energized and ready to take on the world.
When the retreat dates are announced, we all rush to  choose the meals we will each make as the eating on retreat is as important to us as the rest of the gathering (and we eat very very well I might add).  Victoria made these delicious brownies and I knew I had to have the recipe.  I am sharing with her permission this wonderful dessert/snack.
brownies
Ingredients
1-16 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
4 large eggs
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup loosely packed brown sugar
1/4 cup gluten free flour
3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa power (dark is best)
1 teaspoon baking powder
pinch of salt
36 small pecan or walnut halves
Directions
Heat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease an 8X8 pan.
Get out your blender or food processor and put everything in except the pecans/walnuts.  Process until smooth.  Pour into pan and put 6 nuts across the top and 6 down the side, then fill in the other spaces.  This gives you a guide later for cutting up brownies.
Bake about 30 to 35 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean from the center.
Of course, you can leave out the nuts for people who are allergic to them.  
2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Nut Brownies

  1. Oh I just made gluten free brownies too, but not with beans, lol! I used almond flour…haven’t posted it yet! These look really delicious….my past experience with black beans in dessert has been lackluster…but these look really good and promising! I love how thick and fluffy they are.

  2. I will admit it – this is a picture I had from a stock photo house. I didn’t have a picture of the original brownies. They were not quite as high but they did look very similar and they tasted delicious.

Leave a Reply

