Smashed Potatoes with Leeks and Cheddar

Okay so I was a bit bored the other day (especially with what was in my fridge…). I had a few baby red boiled potatoes left over from a food order, a small piece of old cheddar and my lovely neighbour dropped off a huge beautiful leek at my door the other day (don’t ask…).

I remembered my friend Ted’s potato dish from Dinner with Ted and Judy and thought I would try to make something similar.  Well it is not at all the same  but this is very yummy.  First I sautéed the chopped leeks (1 leek white part only), then added two giant cloves of garlic minced (just because I love garlic!).  I then put the cold potatoes (7 small red potatoes) into the pan and “smashed” them with my potato masher. I realized I may not have enough potato so I started to mix the ingredients in the pan a bit and then decided I needed something to bind somewhat so out came my trusty egg whites to the rescue!  I just poured about 1/4 cup over the mixture and then kind of stirred it up a bit so the egg worked it’s way through the mixture.  I grated the tiny bit of cheese I had left over the top and mixed it as best I could. Then I pressed it down into the small frying pan and seared it till one side was browned.

Using a small plate I covered the fry pan and flipped the potato mixture onto the plate and then slid it back into the fry pan to brown the other side (it did break apart a bit but it’s called “smashed” potato mix so who cares if it is a bit messy. Once back in the pan I smoothed out the edged pressing it down again into the pan.  The finished product was delicious!

smashed potato and leek

smashed potato and leek2

One thought on “Smashed Potatoes with Leeks and Cheddar

Leave a Reply

