Drop Scones (or… Pancakes from Heaven)

On a visit to my friend Victoria a few months ago I tasted these heavenly delights for breakfast. They are like a cross between a pancake and a scone I think.  Light and airy with the taste of a scone/pancake crossover. After requesting (read as begging 😉 ) for the recipe she emailed it over and I am sharing it with you all.
These “Pancakes from Heaven” as I call them are from Serena Bass’s book, Serena, Food and Stories.  She calls them drop scones.
IMG_0686Mix
1 cup all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/4 cup sugar.

Add
1 extra large egg
1 tablespoon honey
1/2 cup milk.

Put butter on hot griddle, drop tablespoons of batter into fry pan.  Cook for 3 minutes, turn and cook for 2 more minutes.

You can put the dry ingredients together the night before and the next morning you are eating as quickly as you can heat the fry pan.

These are a real treat.  Thanks Victoria! (and Serena Bass)
5 thoughts on “Drop Scones (or… Pancakes from Heaven)

  1. Okay, sorry for the panic, it came through the second time. The first time I got a message asking me to request a reformatting from sender. Never happened before. Now I want to make these! Great chatting yesterday by the way. Xoxo v

    >

    • I’m with you – when Victoria served them up at breakfast I couldn’t believe how fluffy they were. The taste is a real cross. Hope you try them.

Leave a Reply

