Chicken Noodle Soup as Easy Comfort food

It rained all day and was cold and miserable out yesterday (Tuesday April 29th).  I know it is spring and rain is what mother nature brings during this time of year but it really was quite a dreary day.  It was however the kind of day where you just want to hunker down with something comforting.  Soup answered the bill.  It was all I could think about as I sat in rush hour traffic on the way home from a meeting. I planned it all in my head so when I got home I just put all the ingredients into a pot and let it come to a boil.  As I write this I am sipping hot tasty chicken noodle soup (Cindy Style).  Here is what I did.  Yesterday I bought a roast chicken as I was just not in the mood to cook. I cut up the chicken and made stock with the carcass which was sitting in my fridge.  I put some stock in the pot, cut up some of the chicken (which tends to dry out a bit anyway the next day) and then came the “Cindy” ingredients…I put a bunch of frozen chopped kale and a package of thick udon noodles into the broth, a bit of lemon pepper and let it come to a boil.  Into a bowl and suddenly I had comfort food sitting right in front of me.  Delicious!

 

IMG_1524

 

IMG_1526

 

6 thoughts on “Chicken Noodle Soup as Easy Comfort food

  1. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour | Ocean View Kitchen

Leave a Reply

