Meatloaf – who would have thought it….

I have never made a meatloaf. I know it’s hard to believe but there it is. I am not even sure why I haven’t made meatloaf before.  It is really pure comfort food and after spending a weekend visiting my friend Victoria in the country and making it there I am doubly amazed that I have never made it.

Meatloaf has to be the fastest, easiest, low cost meal going. Here is how Victoria made it and I have to say it was delicious both for dinner and for sandwiches the next day served cold.  What a staple meal to have in the fridge! Have I mentioned heathly too?

Turkey Meatloaf

1lb. ground turkey

1 chopped onion

A few chopped sundried tomatoes (only because she had them on hand – experiment with whatever is in your fridge)

1 egg beaten

½ cup relish of your choosing including salsa, bbq sauce, apricot jam (we used a sweet and spicy relish from Harry and Davids)

Directions

Mix all ingredients in a bowl and put mixture into a loaf pan.

Cook at 350 for 1 hour

That’s it!  How simple and it tasted great but the real treat was having it cold the next day in a sandwich (olive chibata buns).

meatloaf1

 

meatloaf2

 

meatloaf and sweetpot

 

meatloaf sandwich

 

 

7 thoughts on “Meatloaf – who would have thought it….

  1. Looks delicious. Cindy, I never got this some of your other posts even though I subscribed to your blog. I wanted you to know that I would read and comment if I had seen the posts. I just re-followed and hopefully I will get your blog posts in my email now. This is happening more and more frequently,

    • I saw that you had resubscribed and thought that was weird – I too have had a few issues with people commenting and it not showing up. WordPress needs to get it’s tech end in order. Thanks for taking the time to resubscribe. Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

