The Writing Process Blog Tour

blogshakespearecomic

 

TO BLOG OF COURSE!


I had the honour of being asked to participate in “The Writing Process Blog Tour”.  What a great idea!

The concept is to get bloggers to get to know one another and to have a venue to introduce their blog, and other blogs to a wider circle of people. Social media at it’s finest 😉

Once nominated you have to answer a few questions about your blogging process (which I will do further on) and then thank the person who nominated you (which again I will do) and then nominate 3 fellow bloggers who’s posts will then keep this going hopefully and we can all learn something interesting from each post. My only problem was several of the people I nominated are already doing this blog as they were nominated by someone else! That just goes to show you how great their blogs are so I encourage you to check them out (see blogs I follow for several).

So to begin I would like to thank a fairly new follower of my blog called oceanviewkitchen (click on the name for the link). This is such a great site – full of fabulous recipes and mouth watering photography. The recipes are usually quick and easy to make (always a good thing) and are just right for the season.  I am really enjoying reading this blog on a weekly basis. It’s worth checking out for some truly creative and delicious looking recipes.

The next step involves answering some questions about my writing process  – so here goes…..

1) What am I working on?

My day job (and sometimes night job 😉 ) is as a creative director.  I have run my own business for almost 20 years now specializing in graphic design and print production. Most of our clients are corporate but we do lots of non profits and some outside the box work that is always fun.

Cooking has been an outlet of creativity for me for a number of years and even more so in the last 2-3 years.  I have been cooking for others as a side line for a couple of years now (often older people and households where both parents work and cooking time is often not readily available and many times when a newborn is introduced into the family). The foods I prepare for these people is based on a healthy, low salt, low fat menu that is easy to heat up and always tasty.

I should qualify that I love to cook but am not so keen on baking.  Don’t get me wrong – I love baked goods and some of the blogs I follow make the most incredible baked goods that just looking at them is like food heaven.

For me cooking involves making something from an ingredient or dish that has inspired me me. I rarely follow a recipe and if I do it is more of a guideline to which I add my own 2 cents. I love to be creative and add an unusual ingredient to something just to give it that extra flair.  One of my pet peeves though is having to throw food out that has gone off in the fridge.  I like to create something that uses up the ingredients I have on hand in the fridge or pantry. Simple, quick and tasty!

 

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think everyone who blogs brings something unique and different to the food they make.  Even if you are following someone else’s recipe – many people will add their own “touch” to it. I can’t say that what I do is very different from other bloggers except that we all create in our own ways and with what inspires us – to that end we are all different yet very much the same.

 

3) Why do I write what I do?

Simple – I am a foodie!  I love cooking for others and developing a meal from start to finish is such a creative process for me that I savour very last drop of it. I will start planning a dinner party meal weeks in advance and tweak it until I am happy. What I love about blogging is that you can write about what you want and getting the reinforcement from other bloggers that they like what you are writing is INSPIRATIONAL! This seems like a great spot to include a thank you to those that follow my blog. I feel a real community spirit with the readers and with those who’s blogs I follow and with those who’s blogs I come across through recommendations and just surfing the blogsphere.

 

4) How does your writing process work?

Generally I write about 1 of 3 things; 1) a recipe I have developed, 2) food I ate at someones home and 3) restaurants I have visited.

I take pictures anytime I eat out either at a restaurant or at a friends place, find out how it is made if I can, and then come home and write my blog on it which I then schedule for publishing.  I will usually have about 2 weeks of blogs written ahead of time so I am not rushing.  I started writing 2 blogs a week (Wednesday and Saturday) but found it hard to come up with something twice a week.  Now I tend to do a new blog every Saturday and often Wednesdays (if I am not writing a review of a diner party or restaurant) I will reblog someones post that has caught my eye and I think people would like.  Generally that post is something of a fairly healthy nature and again follows the plan of quick, easy and tasty. It’s also a great opportunity to introduce others to new blogs.

I must say I have changed the way I write this blog – When I started writing a blog I realized it had a more formal tone but as I got more comfortable writing I noticed my tone eased up and now I tend to write as though I am having a conversation with fellow readers. I am a very informal person and I like feeling like I am talking to people through my blog and not at them. This community has become just that…a community.

 

So who is next?….

One of my absolute favourite blogs to read and follow is called The Vegan 8. It used to be The Health Flavor but Brandi has revamped and redesigned her blog to be all about vegan cooking and baking. I am still not sure how she manages to be so prolific in her recipes but rest assured they are out of this world.  So creative and absolutely mouth watering.  The photography is outstanding and I am not just saying these things because she has graciously accepted my invitation to continue the writing process blog but because I truly believe it.  The other end of Brandi’s blog is that it doesn’t use more than 8 ingredients!  Perfect! And many of the recipes use the same base ingredients so you are not always running out to buy something special for that one recipe, another factor I really like (using what you have on hand). I encourage you to check out The Vegan 8 blog but I warn you…once you see and try any of the recipes you will be hooked!

 

Thanks for taking the time to read all of this and I hope it inspires someone to start their own blog on whatever interests them. Be sure to check out Brandi’s The Vegan 8 blog and check out some of the blogs I follow (see the left side panel of this blog).

11 thoughts on “The Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. You are so incredibly sweet Cindy! Thank you so much for all of your nice words about my blog, you really made my day!! I loved reading your answers and why you blog. I, too, felt the same way as you did when I first started my blog. I felt a little unsure how to write and felt almost like I had to write a certain way. Soon though, I realized that I just needed to type what I was feeling and now I do just that and type as if I’m talking to friends about my recipes 🙂
    Thanks again and I look forward to doing my turn now 🙂

    • Cheers Brandi! Everything I said about your blog is the truth. I also think doing a blog is truly a “writing process” as you really learn your style of communicating by simply writing and writing more. Looking forward to next week and reading your blog post.

  2. Yay, really loved reading more about you. I do feel like we are sitting down talking when I read your posts. I love your blog, recipes and photography. I also love Brandi and am constantly awe struck by her beautiful blog and amazing original recipes.

    • Thanks so much Suzanne – trust me when I tell you the feeling is mutual! I feel like I know you and your oh so sweet pugs ;-). Glad you enjoyed the blog – it was fun to write and also a bit eye opening for me.

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Ginger Almond Butter and A Writing Process Blog Tour

Leave a Reply

