Reunion Dinner

I had dinner Friday evening with a friend whom I haven’t really seen in several years. Ginny is an amazing chef so when we ran into each other after all those years and she invited me to dinner Friday evening how could I refuse?

Dinner consisted of veal tenderloin (which I have never before seen), grilled sweet potatoes, grilled corn on the cob (soaked in water for 15 minutes with the husks, then thrown on the grill for 15-20 minutes until cooked and the husked are getting blackened), steamed broccoli and a fabulous salad which included beets, onion, massaged kale (yes you read that correctly – you massage the kale until it breaks down the tough fibres and it becomes easily chewable and soft. Wonderful technique – see I knew I would learn something new having dinner with her ;-). The rest of the salad had walnuts, romaine lettuce, chopped apple and the dressing was made with walnut oil.  The second thing I learned at dinner….Walnut oil is fabulous! I must get some as it has such a lovely nutty flavour that enhances the dressing and salad and I am sure anything else you put it on.

Dinner was really nice and a real catch up on a beautiful evening.  Great way to spend Friday night in my books!  Thanks Ginny!

 

IMG_1686

 

 

IMG_1684

 

 

IMG_1691

 

 

IMG_1690

 

IMG_1693

14 thoughts on “Reunion Dinner

  1. Sorry Cindy, I’m so behind on blog posts! That kale salad looks delicious and so does that griled corn. Yum. I know a lot of people don’t like kale but I absolutely love it and knowing it’s so good for us only helps that!

    • So true – it was really tasty – and don’t feel you have to comment on each blog – i know things get busy and I totally appreciate that you even follow my blog.

Leave a Reply

