Indian Black Rice Pudding

Now for those of you that know me – you know the thought of rice pudding makes me cringe. I, however asked my foodie friend Victoria if she would be interested in doing a guest blog for me. Victoria is one of the wisest people I know and when we get together I am sure we could wind up ruling the world if given a chance. We plan and discuss each others futures including where to live and how to invest to ensure our futures are secure etc (Victoria has been in the financial world for years and currently acts as a corporate trainer along with wearing several other interesting hats – check out her blog at rycepapers)

Sooo…..Victoria sent me her guest blog and low and behold it is on rice pudding!  So while I am sure it is as delicious as she says it is I will not be making it.  I do however encourage you to try it as she is a very good cook.  Here goes…

Indian Black Rice Pudding

photo-2

I find people either love rice pudding or roll their eyes at the mere mention of this dessert.  I am firmly on the love side and will eat any variety.  It can be hot or cold, with raisins or without, topped with whipped cream or naked.  Recently I tried an Indian version of this creamy dessert called ‘Black Rice Pudding’. Wow, it knocked my taste buds into heaven. So for all you rice pudding lovers, here is the recipe from Gurpareet Bains’s wonderful book “Indian Superfood”.

1/2 tablespoon black glutinous rice
1/2 tablespoon basmati rice
350 ml milk, partly skimmed
400 ml can light coconut milk
2 tablespoons sugar
6 green cardamon pods, very lightly crushed
Put everything in a heavy bottomed pot and cook on medium heat until it boils.  Reduce to a low heat and cook for an hour, stirring often, lid off.
Remove from heat, spoon out cardamon pods and stir in 20 chopped unsalted pistachios or maybe cashews, if you like them. Let your pudding cool. Then refrigerate it and it will continue to thicken.  Serve with fruit like berries or mango.
Serves two or three.  Or in my case, one.
I know the amount of rice seems paltry, but it actually works.  And the cardamon pods need only the slightest pressure to open. When I first did it, I practically ground them into paste.  Oops, start over.  What you want is the cardamon flavour and whole pods to remove.  The pods swell during cooking and are easy to find.
And the colour!  Prepare yourself for a wonderful lavender dessert. The black rice is actually deep purple and it slowly infuses your pudding with colour as it cooks.  It looks beautiful, smells divine, and tastes outstanding.
As a big fan of Indian food, I added this recipe to my favourites’ list.  Only 7 ingredients and, for a dinner party, you make it the day before saving you time and stress.
Think Chai Tea and rice pudding combined to get an idea of the flavour. Mine didn’t set into a firm pudding, but was thick.  Let me know if you try it.
Victoria Ryce
7 thoughts on “Indian Black Rice Pudding

  1. Hello All, I was invited to a dinner party last night and offered to bring dessert. I made this pudding, but this time added an extra tablespoon of arborio rice. It thickened up beautifully and got rave reviews. I put plums soaked in Cointreau on top and it did serve 3. So a fusion dessert of Indian, Italian, and French origins. Tasted delicious.

  2. You are so funny Cindy!! I am with you though, I do not like the idea or rice pudding either!! I just only can stand the idea of rice in savory dishes…certainly not pudding. But I know plenty of people love it, I am just extremely picky about textures!

Leave a Reply

