Memories of My Starving Post University Days and Kraft Dinner

I am sure I will get a number of people identifying with those days when you had no money, were trying to find yourself and a career after university (way back when….) and Kraft Dinner was a staple. No? Well you are the lucky ones (or should I say unlucky) 😉

There is something about Kraft Dinner that brings back tons of good memories. Now I know it is terrible food but bear with me as I did try to make it a touch healthier by adding a can of tuna.

I indulge in Kraft Dinner about once every 2-3 years so it’s not so bad and the things it makes me think about and remember are kind of fun so really how bad is that?

Here is my adult recipe for Kraft dinner (Did I say the box was on sale for 67 cents and made 3 meals?)

IMG_1851

1 box of KD cooked as per instructions. I only use 1 small pat of butter and a bit of skim milk just to thicken and moisten the orange powder they call “cheese”.

Once cooked and mixed, I add a tin of tuna drained, mix up and sprinkle bread crumbs on top with some sliced tomatoes. (I only had grape tomatoes so I used those instead). Then I bake it for about 20 minutes at 400 degrees till the edges get a bit browned.

All I can say is it was yummy, nostalgic and tasty all at once 😉

4 thoughts on “Memories of My Starving Post University Days and Kraft Dinner

    • So true. It all works out in the end though. I learned hoe to live frugally till I didn’t need to anymore (although I still practice careful spending 😉 )

Leave a Reply

