Salmon, peppers and arugula

I had one of those evenings where I knew I was going to make some salmon but didn’t know what to have with it. I looked through the fridge and didn’t see much so I went for a walk to the green grocer up the street and picked up some peppers and arugula. Couldn’t resist them – they looked so fresh and colourful.

I came home and thinly sliced up an orange pepper along with a leek. I sautéed them till wilted and then threw in a handful of baby arugula to wilt it.  I turned the burner off so the heat that was left in the pan wilted the arugula nicely.

I did a quick maple and dijon glaze for the salmon and put it in the toaster oven for about 12 minutes then placed the fish over the peppers, arugula and leeks, sprinkled some toasted sesame seeds on top and dinner was ready in about 20 minutes.  How easy is that!

IMG_1922

 

I only managed to eat half and shared a small taste with my cat who was quite happy to indulge as well ;-). Now I don’t have to think about lunch tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “Salmon, peppers and arugula

  1. It sounds delicious Cindy, I love quick and easy meals and this salmon dish sounds really delicious, I’m sure your Kitty loved getting some of the salmon. I used to go to a cafe in the West Village that had a wonderful salmon dish with a mustard sauce. I’ve tried to re create it but don’t even get close. Love how this sounds.

  2. Haha! I love that you shared it with your cat, too cute! I LOVE arugula and peppers and that maple dijon glaze sounds divine! I love your photo too and with all the white sesame seeds on top, it’s gorgeous 🙂

    • Thanks Brandi! I think my cat is happy that I like to cook. She gets to taste a number of things made in the kitchen. The sautéed arugula was new for me – works well though. I can see it with mushroom and quinoa too. Hmmm…maybe my next recipe

Leave a Reply

