Roasted Vegetable Soup – guest post

Roasted vegetable soup – Guest post by Victoria Ryce

Suddenly finding myself with many root vegetables, I decided to roast a few pans of squash, sweet potato, parsnips, and carrots. I had some with my dinner, some in a salad, and some in a sandwich. I’d run out of ideas of what to do with them, so I thought I would make soup.
All I did was chop up an onion and fry it in some olive oil, then add the roasted vegetables. Thinking it was looking a little monochrome, I opened the fridge and found some mushrooms that were at their best by date and a rib of celery.  I chopped these up and added them to the onions. Then added 2 cups of broth.
When I roasted the parsnips I added a dash of olive oil and some salt-and-pepper. When I roasted the carrots I added a bit of garlic. And when I roasted the sweet potato I sprinkled a few leaves of rosemary over them. So I didn’t add any spices to this soup.
I gave some away to two friends and they asked me to please forward the recipe. Yikes!  It’s leftover vegetable soup, I said. So here is my attempt at telling you how the recipe worked. Please feel free to roast any vegetables and add any other spices to make your own version.  I dropped some Twistos asiago crackers on top of my soup. Cindy turned me onto them and now I am hooked.
Also, you could purée the vegetable soup if you want a creamy, blended flavour soup.  Your choice.  It’s winter so time for hearty soups and curling up with a good book or movie.  Roast a bunch of vegetables and you will be fed for days.
photo
4 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Soup – guest post

Leave a Reply

